Miller named district Coach of the Year, Johnson district Player of the Year

The United States Basketball Writers Association selected Arizona men’s basketball’s Sean Miller as its District IX Coach of the Year and Nick Johnson as its District IX Player of the Year.

Johnson and freshman forward Aaron Gordon were selected to the All-District IX team.

They are the trio’s first USBWA honors. Johnson is the UA’s second District IX Player of the Year Award recipient in the last four years, after Derrick Williams won it in 2011.

This is the second season that two Wildcats have made the 10-man All-District team.

Michigan and New Mexico are the only other schools to win district Coach of the Year and Player of the Year.

—Follow James Kelley @jameskelley520